Hallowe’en

Posted: October 31, 2009 in Uncategorized

Last year, you may remember that Trick or Treat reached almost epiphanic proportions around here when the most common costume was that of then-candidate, now-President Obama. And the sea change that seemed to foretell has indeed come… whatever your politics, it is true that no one can ever again say, “Oh, the US isn’t ready for a black president.” No black child will ever again grow up believing that to be true. And if you think that, in and of itself, isn’t something to celebrate… if you can’t put aside the politics of the thing long enough to be glad for that… well, you might want to ask yourself some difficult questions about your own feelings on race. I’m just saying.

I don’t expect this year to have the same dramatic impact. I imagine we’re mostly back to Princesses and Superheros around here, with a few Transformers and a WVU football player or two mixed in for good measure. I’ve bought nasty, nasty candy this year in the hope that we won’t eat any of it: Milk Duds, Starburst Sour Gummies, and Crabby Patties. The last look like burgers for GI Joe to me. It already hasn’t worked. I’ve had two fun size boxes of Milk Duds since I did the shopping yesterday. All I can say is that the count would be much higher if I had bought Snickers bars and Reese’s Cups like last year.

So, come knock on our door and hold out your bag! We’ll be here.

Comments
  1. Beth says:

    “Crabby Patties.” Just gotta ask: what the heck is the ingredient list? 🙂 They sound pretty horrible. Milk Duds aren’t my favorite, either, but they wouldn’t last long around here. Frozen Reese’s cups. Wow. It’s been so long. . .

  2. sarahemc2 says:

    I have no idea if Crabby Patties even have “ingredients.” I think they have only “chemical components.” They’re a disgusting Gummi-Burger thing based on Sponge Bob?

Leave a Reply

