Six Miracles of the Past Year

Posted: December 24, 2008 in Uncategorized
  1. No one I love has fallen off their respsective wagons, although the roads they ride are rough and they have sometimes had to hold on to the someone else’s hand to stay inside.  Thank God for wagons, and for hands to keep you inside when you feel you’re about to be tossed to the side of the road.
  2. There are the twin miracles of new friends who bring fresh ideas and ways of seeing things, and old friends who managed to endure my nuttiness for yet another year.
  3. No one can ever again say, “A black man will never be president of the United States.”  And, while that doesn’t fix everything, it sure is a big move in the right direction.  (Although I don’t know what to make of this Rick Warren thing, and can’t help wondering if someone isn’t trying to fool me into believing that bigotry isn’t something we can overcome, but something we have to endure.  But not this year; this year I have hope, and I’m not giving it up that easily!)
  4. Love.
  5. There has been death, but in each death there has been solice and everyone who has been left behind has found a way to carry on.  It didn’t always look like this would be true; the people I love are amazingly resilient, spirited people and I am blessed to know them.
  6. In spite of eight very bad years, it seems the world has not lost it’s willingness to forgive us, if we turn things around.  And it seems like maybe we do have a national conscience.  People are eating local, going green, and thinking about what they consume.  We have questioned the wisdom of going to war, and once again decided that we do not want to be a warlike people.  Maybe there is hope for us after all.
Comments
  1. Happy Christmas — There is much here to be thankful for. I hope your optimism (about politics) proves right.

  2. inktarsia says:

    Pursuant to Miracle #2a, I can’t imagine having journeyed through this year without you & Kathy. You’ve kept me in the drafting wagon (Miracle #1), taught me a lot about #5, strengthened my hope for #6…and 4 and 3. So, Miracle #7: We survived to blog & share about #1-6.

  3. sarahemc2 says:

    Sherry, you guys are definitely the miracle of new friends, and I’m particularly grateful for you!

  4. inktarsia says:

    One more thing about #6…did you decorate your lawn Obama sign with blinking lights this holiday season?

  5. shyloh says:

    I discovered your blog through Switched At Birth – and just as I was drawn to read through the archives there I find myself doing the same here. Your voice, your images, your perspectives – all drew me in. You inspire me to continue writing.

  6. sarahemc2 says:

    Thank you, Shyloh! How sweet of you to say.

Leave a Reply

