Five Things I Love, And One Thing I Hate, About Teaching…

Posted: October 9, 2008 in Uncategorized

Five Things I Love
1. The students, who I want to call my students, but old as I am, even I know better than that.

2. Learning skate-punk, hip hop, Pokemon, NASCAR jargon.

3. The kids who can’t help giggling every time they call me Professor Einstein and insist on saying it, even though I’ve said, “I’m not a Professor, just call me Sarah.” This tickles me, and bugs the hell out of my husband, who earned the right to be called Professor the hard way.

4. Reading the papers, which are much better than you have been lead to believe, and contain the wisdom of the ages as writ by people with great faith in the words you, I, and always.

5. Sometimes, there are cookies.

One Thing I Hate
1. My red pen.

Comments
  1. Kathy says:

    Those papers that contain the marks of that red pen will hopefully become even better. I remember even in grad school trying so hard to have a perfect paper, but there would always be a few tiny little red marks that would disappoint me, then spur me on in my quest for perfection.

Leave a Reply

