Whitefish Review CoverThat, my lovelies, is the ISBN number for Whitefish Review Volume 2, Issue 1.  This is the first time my work has appeared in something that actually has an ISBN number–and I am decidedly tickled by it.  I am even more tickled to be in the same publication as Rick Bass, whose excellent piece “Threshold” closes the journal.  It’s a piece that rings just as true here in West Virginia as it does for the Yaak Valley in Montana.  (I am going to steal his line and for the rest of my life call ATVs “chain saws on Rollberblades.”)  Jennifer Robbin’s excellent “Digging in the Dirt” got me outside and on my knees to weed the tomatoes and the ground cherries, which I have been putting off for far too long.  And Clifford Garstang’s wonderful “The Nymph and the Woodsman” has made me think of structure in new–and liberating–ways.  Everything else is probably equally good, but I only got my copies yesterday and haven’t had time to read the other pieces.  I had to spend some time smelling the pages, breaking the spine of the one copy I’ll keep, listening to that satisfying “pop” when it’s first opened wide, signing the copies I’m going to send away to friends who have been forever misremembered in the essay itself.

Following, as this does, so closely on the heals of Worst Rejection Letter Ever, this has been a real boost.  I certainly don’t mean to imply that I think the pieces published in Fringe and Conte somehow count less–they don’t.  But there is something about the physicality of paper–and the authority of the ISBN number–that adds to the general sense of having accomplished something.

Comments
  1. darklightwrites says:

    Congratulations Sarah. Although I’ve never had something published (perhaps because I’ve never submitted anything for publication), it seems to me that there would be something special about seeing your words on paper.

    When/if you have time, I’d appreciate your insight on where to submit creative nonfiction work for publication. Most contests and requests for submission I see are for fiction. I’ve tried it, but I don’t do it well and would prefer to stick with non-fiction, but don’t know how to get started down the road to publication.

  2. Sarah, thanks for the mention. I haven’t read any of the issue yet, although I am looking forward to reading them all, including “The Way Things Go.” I didn’t even realize the magazine had an ISBN–that’s pretty unusual. But it’s a very nicely made book, so it fits.

    Concerning your “Worst Rejection Ever,” I often blog about those tiny scraps of paper. It helps, no?

  3. Heartfelt congratulations, Sarah. I just order a copy for my bookshelf. What is the name of your story? (I’d like to put a note about it and the Whitefish Review on my blog.)

    Savor the moment! (First of many to come. . .)

  4. Ditto Beth’s comments–the name of the essay? Congrats!

  5. sarahemc2 says:

    Beth and Susan,

    Thanks for the interest! The essay is “The Way Things Go,” a road-trip narrative about travelling with my father through the Deep South to pick up a VW Thing that he bought himself for his sixtieth birthday.

    Peace!
    Sarah

  6. sarahemc2 says:

    Darklight,

    I don’t have a good list of journals, I’m afraid. I should have put one together by now, but I have primarily stumbled upon–rather than researched–the places where I’ve been published. I waste a lot of time clicking around Duotrope, looking for a good fit for a piece once it’s written, and pretending that I’m going to write things specifically for themed issues of journals I admire–although I never actually do.

    Peace!
    Sarah

  7. Dody says:

    Sarah – I have been away and just read this post – wow – I am thrilled for you. Congratulations. How are you? I would love to make fun of your rejection letter if you ever feel like it. They can be brutal. I love looking at my submission log and seeing all the red rejected I have placed after each rejected entry. It’s becoming very bloody!

    Take care – Dody

  8. […] couple of months ago, I read in Sarah Einstein's blog, Hilltrash, that her story, "The Way Things Go," was published in the literary magazine, Whitefish […]

Leave a Reply

