Leonard Cohen – I’m Your Man

Posted: May 12, 2008 in Art, Leonard Cohen, music, Sarah Einstein
Tags: , , , , , ,

I finally got a chance to see Leonard Cohen – I’m Your Man.  I’m not a big fan of biopics, and I am also not a big fan of U2, so I was prepared to love this less than I should. 

I didn’t.

This is a really brilliant and lovely movie.  It has the haunting, sweet, funny qualities of one of his songs and it isn’t hurt–as I was afraid it would be–by the folk who come after him paying tribute.  (Still, why anyone would have Bono cover a Leonard Cohen song is beyond me.)

See this.  Really.

Comments
  1. inktarsia says:

    Finally, a movie for Cohen-heads, even if they don’t like U2. (Besides ramp kimchi, the U2 thing is the only other stinky fact I know about you, including the Vault story.) I will look for this.

  2. sarahemc2 says:

    Yeah, I knew my anti-Bono thing wasn’t going to make you happy. I was hoping you were too busy to check the blog. Notice I posted this when I thought you were out of town?

  3. inktarsia says:

    Life’s a beach. Then you fly home on Sunday, bloody Sunday.

  4. Karen says:

    Thanks for the review!

Leave a Reply

